November 2020




David E.J. Bazzo, MD, FAAFP

Clinical Professor of Family Medicine
Fitness for Duty, UC San Diego, PACE Program
Primary Care Core Clerkship
University of California San Diego School of Medicine
Immediate Past President
San Diego County Medical Society
San Diego, California

David E.J. Bazzo, M.D., FAAFP, CAQSM, is a Clinical Professor of Family Medicine at the UCSD School of Medicine. He is board certified in Family Medicine and has a Certificate of Added Qualification in Sports Medicine. He is Director of the Fitness for Duty Program for the UCSD Physician Assessment and Clinical Education (PACE) Program as well as Course Director for a number of their educational offerings. Dr. Bazzo has an active practice in Family and Sports Medicine. He is Co-Director of the Primary Care Core Clerkship for 3rd year medical students in addition to his clinical teaching roles for all medical students, family medicine residents and sports medicine fellows. He has an active interest in physician assessment and meaningful education at all levels of medicine - medical school through active practice. He has lectured nationally and internationally on a number of topics including Sports Medicine, Osteoarthritis, Headache, Neurologic issues, Communications, Pain management and Physician Assessment.

Dr. Bazzo is the Immediate Past President of the San Diego County Medical Society. He is a Past President of the San Diego Academy of Family Physicians and currently serves on the Board of Directors for the California Academy of Family Physicians as Speaker of the House. He is past Chair of the California Academy of Family Physicians Committee on Continuing Professional Development and was on the American Academy of Family Physicians Subcommittee on Assembly Scientific Program. He serves as Team Physician or consulting physician for numerous sports teams including the professional, Olympic, collegiate, and high school level. He was voted one of San Diego’s “Top Doctors” for the last 14 years in Family Medicine and/or Sports Medicine by his peers. He is the 2011 recipient of the Barbara Harris Award for Educational Excellence. The selection was made by the California Academy of Family Physicians Foundation Board.


Follow Us

Jointly Provided By